MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#206 – French Dreams

with 14 comments

C’est vrai.

Okay, readers of MyLifeComics, I need some advice. I’m planning on upgrading from my iPod Shuffle very soon (as in over the weekend) and I’m unsure of what to get. So, recommend me an mp3 player. It doesn’t have to necessarily come from Apple, but I know nothing about other types like the Zune and what-have-you. I care more about a lot of space for music and less about being able to watch episodes of Ugly Betty while going to the bathroom. The speaking floor is all yours…

Written by Paul

October 4, 2007 at 8:35 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What did you have to eat yesterday?

    Trina

    October 4, 2007 at 9:14 am

  2. Je voudrais allez a la WC s’il vous plait [for you English speaking types, it means “I would like to go to the bathroom please]. Mrs. R. D. Vandertramp [a pneumonic device to remember the od verbs in French – revenir, devenir, venir, aller, netre, etc…..].

    And that about sums up what I remember of my high school French classses. Not even sure I spelled them right.

    As to your MP3 struggles, I’d suggest a USB drive/MP3 player. I think Creative Labs sells one. Essentially it requires no cables and you drag and drop your music as if it were a harddrive (becuse it is one). The one I got also has an FM tuner, voice recorder, and only needs one AAA battery. Controls are fairly easy to use. All you need to add is your own set of headphones.

    TK42ONE

    October 4, 2007 at 9:21 am

  3. Trina: I had a grilled cheese sandwich last night, along with a bowl of tomato soup.

    TK: Tres bien! I shall look into this USB drive/mp3 player. Thank you for the suggestion.

    Paul

    October 4, 2007 at 9:39 am

  4. Hmmm, ok, I stumped. I know one time I ate a big enchilada before going to bed, and I dreamed these loco banditos were after me.

    Trina

    October 4, 2007 at 9:48 am

  5. Mon frere! C’est une reve bizarre! I have a nano. Screen cracks. I didn’t put out for the one with more gigabytes, or whatever.

    Bitsy

    October 4, 2007 at 10:11 am

  6. Did the screen crack on its own or didya drop it, Bitsy?

    Paul

    October 4, 2007 at 11:04 am

  7. normal wear and tear! i will not stand for your petty insults!

    Bitsy

    October 4, 2007 at 2:42 pm

  8. hi funny strip!

    here is a comparatif of the latest mp3, from clubic. In French, bien sûr:
    http://www.clubic.com/article-81422-1-baladeurs-top-ipod-classic-ipod-nano-creative-zen.html

    raindrop

    October 4, 2007 at 5:03 pm

  9. Thanks, raindrop! Or, er, merci! 😛

    I can only read one out of five words on that site, heh.

    Paul

    October 4, 2007 at 6:49 pm

  10. Vive la France and i have no ipod helpful hints. sorry, mon chere.

    Mere

    October 4, 2007 at 7:14 pm

  11. Impression DE FRAAAAANCE!

    Paul

    October 4, 2007 at 9:52 pm

  12. I have a buddy of mine that has a zune and absolutely loves it, the screen is pretty big, though from your post I doubt that matters to you. I also know a friend who bought an mp3 player from newegg that was pretty generic and loves it as well. Both bought it for the same reason as you, they just wanted a ton of space without spending 300+ dollars. My sister has a nano and it’s okay if you can handle only 4 or 8 gigs of music but for that price it’s my prerogative to want more storage space.

    Check out this list and sort by reviews to check out some of your options: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&SubCategory=23&N=2100080023

    PS: I’ve ordered all my parts for my last three computers I’ve built from Newegg so don’t be gunshy about buying it online.

    tgjason

    October 5, 2007 at 3:49 am

  13. Thanks for the link! Yeah, storage space beats out a lot of other nifty options for me. I want lots of music on the go!

    Paul

    October 5, 2007 at 8:44 am

  14. The dumb MP3 players you get for free want to bring
    you advertising or snoop on your computer. Just forget
    them and buy a good DJ program. It’ll knock you a few
    hundred dollars, but it does so much more than just
    play your MP3s. When you have friends over, you can
    wow them with scratches, loops, fade-ins, sound effects.
    You’d finally be cool. So seriously worth the money.

    Seraphine

    December 15, 2007 at 11:16 am


Leave a Reply

