MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#192 – Beat Games

with 6 comments

Off the top of my head, here’s what I’m working on whenever I get the chance:

  • Dragon Quest VIII (just wandering around, searching for critters for my Monster Team, with my hero somewhere around LV. 35 and amount of time clock like 60 hrs)
  • Wild Arms 3 (only played this for a few hours before becoming distracted by God of War, and haven’t touched it since)
  • Final Fantasy XII (at the spot where I can move forward to the final battle, but am trying to beat all the Marks and do some sidequests first)
  • Xenosaga Episode I: Der Wille Zur Macht (Gah, I really need to start this game over because I turned it on the other day and had no idea what I was supposed to be doing)
  • Rogue Galaxy (at the final battle, which I’ve tried to beat three times before I gave up)
  • Suikoden V (Bitsy’s borrowing, couldn’t beat the final boss as my characters were too weak)
  • Dark Cloud 2 (Bitsy’s borrowing, again couldn’t beat the final boss after a couple tries–are we seeing a pattern here?)
  • Radiata Stories (I liked a lot about this game except for the fighting system, which is why I doubt I’ll ever try and beat it)

I think that’s most of them. Now, take into mind that I really really really want to buy some new games (such as Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 and Odin Sphere), but I just feel lousy for not completing all my other games. I mean, why buy them if I’m not going to finish them? I used to be able to, back in the day. Got through Chrono Trigger and a bunch of Final Fantasy titles in a few days. But now, alas, I am older, and I do not have the patience to finish these things. Well, RPGs really. I can complete other genres cause they do not require so much devotion.

Any videogames you have, but haven’t beaten yet?

Written by Paul

September 13, 2007 at 8:48 am

Posted in ADD, games, videogames

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a wanne-be gamer. A poser that likes FPS games but can’t seem to find the time to play them. I’m sure if I were single, I’d have plenty of time. But as it stands, I still have not finished Far Cry, Call of Duty 2, or Medal of Honor (the original one). But, the good news, I finished Call of Duty 1. That was a major feat (in finding time to play, not in actually finishing the game).

    TK-42ONE

    September 13, 2007 at 11:02 am

  2. Sim City 3000

    Patrick

    September 13, 2007 at 11:59 am

  3. TK: I like first person shooters, but only if they are sci-fi. Killzone was kind of dumb, but I have played both Red Faction and Red Faction II, each game having its ups and downs. Halo was okay, but I haven’t played much of it. Nor have I touched one of the war FPS.

    Patrick: I, um, don’t think that’s the kind of game one beats. Sort of like Monopoly. Nobody ever finishes…

    Paul

    September 13, 2007 at 12:54 pm

  4. Hmmm, nice list, and yes I do notice the trend that you tend to get distracted from the usual end game grinding that accompanies some RPGs.

    Off the top of my head:
    *Bioshock(haven’t played since school decided to assign me a few essays and exams)
    *Final Fantasy XII(got to the part when you exit the sewers early on in the game and just haven’t picked it up since)
    *Grandia 1(heard this game was really fun and was playing it for a while before I lost a couple hours because of the old psx freezing up, haven’t touched it since)
    *Final Fantasy III(haven’t put this in my DS in quite a while, just didn’t feel like grinding then or now)

    There’s probably more, but this is getting depressing. I say look at a few faqs and try to beat at least one or two of the games you have on the list, especially the end game ones and then go buy Odin Sphere because I was watching a friend play and it looked amazing.

    tgjason

    September 13, 2007 at 1:31 pm

  5. tgjason: I’ve heard many kickass things about Bioshock. Too bad I don’t have a system that can play it. I’d say that you should try and get a little further in FF12 because the game definitely gets better. Never liked the Grandia series myself though. And yes, an FAQ on how to finish off some of these games might just be the solution I need to get them dead and done.

    Paul

    September 13, 2007 at 2:37 pm

  6. This is Bitsy from NJ! I just wanna say that I haven’t beaten the 2 games I own. These are Suikoden V (i think that is a five) and Dark Cloud 2. I got to rough spots and without your almighty skills – I just can’t proceed in either of them. Now you know what you’ll be doing over x-mas break – a minor battle on land and sea (suikoden) and running with sheriff longhorn (dark cloud).

    Mere

    September 13, 2007 at 5:44 pm


Leave a Reply

