MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#191 – Crap Meat

with 8 comments

Hole-in-the-wall restaurants have their pros and cons. For one thing, they’re yours. No one else will probably know of them, and if they turn out to make the best and most awesome platter of food then you’ve hit the jackpot. Keep their whereabouts to yourself and enjoy for eternity. If they are bad, however, it’s usually all downhill…all the time. Surprisingly, this place (its name escapes me at the moment) had some great dishes and I went for the shrimp soup (no lump crap for me, thank you kindly). But man, the typos on the menu were just the greatest thing.

Written by Paul

September 12, 2007 at 12:31 pm

Posted in business, food, foodwhore, idiots

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love typing errors. They make me happy. How are you, Biff? Looking forward to seeing me on Friday?! I’ll be home tonight at 11:30 PM!

    Bitsy

    September 12, 2007 at 12:00 pm

  2. Hole in the walls are awesome!

    I have a few tucked away for eternity.

    Patrick

    September 12, 2007 at 12:36 pm

  3. Bitsy: You should become an editor! I spend all day looking for them! Yay, fun times at home in Old Peoples Landing…I mean, Mays Landing.

    Patrick: How many of them are Italian joints?

    Paul

    September 12, 2007 at 1:10 pm

  4. Are you sure it wasn’t “krab” meat? With a “k” instead of a “c”?

    I have a hole-in-the-wall joint I frequent every week. My old man and I have been going there long enough I feel like Norm on Cheers. Everybody knows your name. Half the time my drink is on the bar waiting for me before I even sit down (breakfast, we eat breakfast there, so no alcoholic drinks mind you). I know the cook, his wife, all the sisters, and several of the other regulars by first name. And they all know me by first name. Everything I’ve had there is good. But when you look at the place (from the outside or inside), it looks kind of like an overused greasy spoon.

    And yet, I still refuse to tell anyone where it is unless they buy me a meal there. That’s their fee for learning about this hidden gem.

    TK-42ONE

    September 12, 2007 at 2:49 pm

  5. Well, if it was spelled with a k it still would have said krap. Lump krap meat. Your hidden gem sounds like a comfy place!

    Paul

    September 12, 2007 at 3:34 pm

  6. Actually, yes, one of them is Greek AND Italian. Hence, part of its name: The Greek and Italian Grill. They make some good stuff and the hummus is to die for! Well, maybe not die, but at least walk on glass for! That might be pushing it a little as well. How about I just stick with “It’s darn good!”

    Patrick

    September 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

  7. The Atlas Diner: the place we go to every Friday night. It isn’t a hole in the wall, and they don’t call us by name, but they know our faces and what I order (a glass of cabernet and the Luna Tuna Salad, please.) The food is simple but good and reasonably priced. They’re so popular, they opened a couple more in the area.

    Trina

    September 12, 2007 at 4:41 pm

  8. La Casita in La Jolla, San Diego has the greatest Mexican food I’ve ever had touch my lips. Not to mention they make their own hot sauce which is also the most delicious mixture of smoky and spicy I’ve ever encountered, mmmmmmmmm.

    Too bad I don’t live in San Diego….

    tgjason

    September 12, 2007 at 5:34 pm


Leave a Reply

