MyLifeComics

…and you thought your life was exciting!

#112 – Redneck Horseshoes

with 10 comments

So, playing regular horseshoes involves four, you know, horseshoes and two stakes. As I learned that evening, redneck horseshoes involves throwing washers at a specified target. I have no idea if the scoring system is the same or not. Either way, I wonder if rednecks are offended at this much like the cavemen are bothered by the Geico commercials. I mean, imagine this: a long long long time ago, a caveman grew bored. He picked up a rock and threw it at a hole. It missed, but his buddy tried and got it in. Thus, caveman horseshoes was born. Time to trademark, commercialize, and sell sell sell. But wouldn’t true redneck horseshoes involve throwing cousins out of mobile homes?

I kid, I kid. Please don’t send me hate mail.

Written by Paul

May 23, 2007 at 12:41 pm

Posted in uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you feel the need to always have a pocket on your shirt?

    Patrick

    May 23, 2007 at 4:28 pm

  2. 96% of the shirts I wear have pockets on ’em. What, you a longtime pocket hater?

    Paul

    May 23, 2007 at 5:09 pm

  3. No, I was just curious. Actually, now that I think about it, 83% of my shirts have some sort of pocket. I like keeping things in there, but the fiance has other ideas.

    If you do not use it, it is a waste of a cool little compartment if you ask me.

    Patrick

    May 23, 2007 at 6:35 pm

  4. Hmm…I’ve yet to actually keep anything in those breast pockets. Guess my Nintendo DS could fit in there just fine. I don’t want to waste space, ya know!

    Paul

    May 23, 2007 at 6:50 pm

  5. Did that woman (not me) really look like that? I can’t remember? My favorite event was the egg toss.

    D

    May 23, 2007 at 10:50 pm

  6. Meh, I couldn’t actually remember so I just winged it. I’m awesome at doing that, as you can see.

    Paul

    May 23, 2007 at 11:38 pm

  7. Here comes the hate mail…

    Redneck horseshoes is still horseshoes – Washers is game all it’s own. Quite a good game that I grew up on in Texas – I actually have a portable set that I’ll take to BBQ’s and other gatherings here in AZ. It is a fun and addicting game that doesn’t have the habbit of giving you a soar arm (which actually can happen when you play horseshoes if don’t play all that often).

    Now a truly strange game worth making fun of is cornhole – ask someone from Indiana, but it’s a variation on the horseshoe-Washers theme with a rather interesting name.

    Neth

    May 23, 2007 at 11:44 pm

  8. Bah! That wasn’t hate mail. More like…informative mail. Thanks for the data! Unfortunately, I don’t know anyone from Indiana. 😦

    Paul

    May 24, 2007 at 12:32 am

  9. crazy…i missed all the fun!

    Bitsy

    May 24, 2007 at 2:54 am

  10. Seriously. You missed the sumo wrestler and the Irishman that had trouble with math. Good times, Bitsy.

    Paul

    May 24, 2007 at 3:32 am


Leave a Reply

